Phish Song Rankings Vegas Fall 2016

Talk about under the wire! I wanted to be caught up through fall before the New Year’s Eve run got started and here I am, about an hour or so before showtime! By all accounts Vegas was a great run of shows, capped off with a brilliant Halloween costume of Ziggy Stardust. Of all of the Halloween shows, my favorite is still Quadrophenia is still my favorite. Not only because I was there but of all of the records covered, that was one of the most significant to my own personal rock and roll history. David Bowie falls under those artists that I wish I would have gotten into more, but I pretty satisfied with the greatest hits version of their respective cannons. Even so, it was an inspired choice and I don’t think anyone was disappointed.

As far as the rankings go, some interesting moves and shakes. The fall ended with a three way tie at the eighth spot, and it leaves me to wonder if any one of those songs will break ahead. If I had to choose I’d say Antelope would be the one.

In a bit of the rarified air, a bit of big news, Rocky Top fell out of the top 50. I would expect it to continue to fall, perhaps even during NYE. Also an expected fall, Love You slipped out of the Top 100. Again, it will probably continue to sink, especially with such common songs like Carini, 46 Days and First Tube nipping at Love You’s heels.

What seemed to be a rarity, What’s the Use? has made it into the Top 200, so not as rare as I perhaps thought. Also not particularly rare of late are a pair of songs making it to twenty individual plays are No Men In No Mans Land and Shine A Light. And finally a couple of newer songs crack the top 300 Breath and Burning and The Dogs.

Well I made it! If you are on your way to your first of four NYE shows be safe and have fun. Your Top 20!

1   You Enjoy Myself – 577
2    Possum – 514
3    Mike’s Song – 491
4   Weekapaug Groove – 460
5   Bouncing Around the Room – 458
6    Golgi Apparatus – 454
7    Chalk Dust Torture – 451
8    David Bowie – 440
8    Cavern – 440
8   Run Like an Antelope – 440

11   Suzy Greenberg – 417
12   Divided Sky – 409
12   Stash – 409
14   Reba – 374
14   Runaway Jim – 374
16   Harry Hood – 366
17   Tweezer – 355
18   The Squirming Coil – 348
19   Foam – 342
20   I Am Hydrogen – 335

Leave a Reply

