Phish Song Rankings as of Alpharetta Fall 2016

Trying to beat the rush toward the New Year’s Eve run and I still have Vegas coming up! I’ve also come up with a silly idea as it comes to Phish, yet another one. You know. like my idea of reviewing 52 jams in 52 weeks. Might try to recommit to that in 2017, we’ll see.

Anyway, the new idea comes on the heels of seeing the Grateful Dead book out by Dave Browne. You may know that I’m a historian, like for reals with a Ph. D. and everything. In my heart, that’s where I’m at, not in the administrative wing where I currently reside. And while I have a lot of ideas and places I’d like to research, I’d really like to add to the Phish community in some way as well. What that looks like right now, I’m not quite sure. I think it starts with a lit review, like every other project that I’ve done. We’ll see from there.

As far as the stop in Georgia is concerned, not a lot of earth-shattering news. That’s part of the fun of this project though, isn’t it? Seeing the pace of change, sometimes slowly and how things move on the ranking chart from show to to show. One of those interesting nuggets is that for the first time in a long time, there is a three-way tie in the top ten. David Bowie, Cavern and Run Like An Antelope are all tied for 8th with 439 times played. I’m sure by the time I get to Vegas it will sort itself out, but a bit of fun nonetheless.

Moving down the rankings but in rarefied air of the top 25 is AC/DC Bag with its 306 times played, opening a 3 times played gap between itself and Maze. Making its way back to the Top 50 is one of those songs I love live, Funky Bitch, but I can take or leave on re-listens. It has always puzzled me why some songs work in the moment, but just don’t make me want to listen to much after that. Your Top 20 after Alpharetta:

1   You Enjoy Myself – 577
2    Possum – 513
3    Mike’s Song – 491
4   Weekapaug Groove – 460
5   Bouncing Around the Room – 457
6    Golgi Apparatus – 453
7    Chalk Dust Torture – 449
8    David Bowie – 439
8    Cavern – 439
8   Run Like an Antelope – 439A three-way at the top!
 
11   Suzy Greenberg – 416
12   Divided Sky – 408
12   Stash – 408
14   Reba – 374
14   Runaway Jim – 374
16   Harry Hood – 365
17   Tweezer – 354
18   The Squirming Coil – 347
19   Foam – 341 (22%)
20   I Am Hydrogen – 335

Leave a Reply

