Phish Song Rankings As Of The Gorge Summer 2016

Nothing like vacation to set me back a pace or two! I regret nothing.  Spent an absolutely lovely week with the family in steamy South Carolina and had a great time.  There are shows to catch up on though as Summer Tour has continued to roll along.  This post will take us through The Gorge shows and a followup is in the offing after the Bill Graham shows wrap up later this week.

Quite a few shows got lumped in here, starting with Portland through the aforementioned Gorge.  Of all the venues on this tour, The Gorge is a bucket list item.  Red Rocks is probably number 1 but every photo of The Gorge I’ve seen makes me want to go to there.  The vibe seems awesome, from the band to the fans as well.  My midwestern bias, or inferiority complex I suppose, just doesn’t see anything that special at our venues.  Alpine is strictly ok.  Pity the souls on the lawn, especially those that actually want good sound (though in the last twenty years its improved greatly.)  Northerly Island is meh and now that they have done Wrigley, I’ll be fine if they move on.  Deer Creek, or whatever they are calling it these days,  is a favorite, but a shed in a corn field doesn’t inspire much.

As far as the songs go on this recent stretch, some fun tidbits.  Weekapaug and Bouncing continue to battle for 4th place.  They will probably wind up in a tie like always when the dust settles.  Tweezer has reached the 350 plateau, which always makes me wonder about the close to 100 shows that didn’t have a reprise.  Maybe in another few years, I’ll start to seek those out.

Rocky Top bounced back up to the Top 200, but I can’t see that lasting for too long.  It just isn’t in the rotation much anymore.  A little farther down the list, Roggae fell out of the Top 125, a victim of the same circumstance.

I Am The Walrus has moved up a bit with its third play.  I can only hope it has improved since its tour debut in Chicago.  When a song moves out of the lowest reaches is always kind of neat to me, especially when it pushes the final slot down another notch.  Pretty soon the final slot will be 500th place.  One of these days I’ll have to see how many songs can claim that tie.  No matter what, there always seems to be more to explore with Phish.  Hopefully at The Gorge one day, 🙂 Your Top Twenty:

As of Gorge Summer 2016

1   You Enjoy Myself – 575
2    Possum – 506
3    Mike’s Song – 487
4   Weekapaug Groove – 456
5   Bouncing Around the Room – 455
6    Golgi Apparatus – 452
7    Chalk Dust Torture – 443
8    David Bowie – 438
9    Cavern – 437
10   Run Like an Antelope – 434

11   Suzy Greenberg – 413
12   Divided Sky – 405
13   Stash – 404
14   Reba – 374
15   Runaway Jim – 372
16   Harry Hood – 359
17   Tweezer – 350 350 Times Played!
18   The Squirming Coil – 346
19   Foam – 341 (22%)
20   I Am Hydrogen – 335

I finally got my podcast working the way I’d like, so if you’d like to hear some US History presented in a lively, fun way, check it out! (warning! the first two episodes audio is not good, but by episode three, I got it!) Episode 32 is up! Get Your History On! Oh and you can get it on iTunes too!

 Get Your History On

Leave a Reply

