Phish Song Rankings: Merriweather

The Big Kahuna made an appearance over the weekend in Maryland as YEM, the number one song added to its total, pushing it to 571.  I wouldn’t be surprised if during MagnaBall we see another one.  I know this is going out on a limb, but we’ll also see the 450th Weekepaug Groove as well in Watkins Glen.  I was starting to wonder if Golgi Apparatus was in semi-retirement for this tour, but it has pushed through to the number 4 spot with its own 450th play.

Outside of the Top Twenty, a couple of points of interest.  First, the Simple played on Saturday was the 150th time the song was played, good enough for 61st place.  There was a time, especially when the staple segue out of Mike’s was Simple, that I would have bet Simple would become a Top 25 song.  It really has slowed in recent years but I still love the Vegas 96 Simple above many, many songs.

The second fun fact from the weekend was the 90th play of Backward Down the Number Line.  BDtNL is now in sole possession of 100th place.  While it would need 100 additional plays to reach the Top 50 it is still impressive that it has risen so fast since 2009.

Looking over the set lists from this tour, it makes me very excited for what is to come at MagnaBall.  The breakouts and rarities have been coming fast and furious and though they don’t cause much change in the place where songs are in the standings, I’m as big a geek as anyone.  While my personal white whale won’t make an appearance over the weekend (My Sweet One) I can’t wait to see what shows up.  I feel really good about our chances of catching a Harpua or an Icculus, maybe both.

If I have a chance (I doubt it though) I might make a few predictions about MagnaBall. Until then, here is the Top 20 before the big weekend!

1   You Enjoy Myself – 571

2    Possum – 501

3    Mike’s Song – 480

4    Bouncing Around the Room – 450

4    Golgi Apparatus – 450 450th time played!

6    Weekapaug Groove – 449  

7    Chalk Dust Torture – 435

7    David Bowie – 435

9    Cavern – 434

10   Run Like an Antelope – 428

11   Suzy Greenberg – 411

12   Divided Sky – 401 (26%)

13   Stash – 399

14   Runaway Jim – 371 (24%)

15   Reba – 370

16   Harry Hood – 351

17   The Squirming Coil – 345 (22%)

18   Tweezer – 344

19   Foam – 341 (22%)

20   I Am Hydrogen – 329 (21%)

Leave a Reply

