Phish Song Standings: And So It Goes

Blossom didn’t really alter very much in the standings. Harry Hood reached 350 plays and Chalk Dust Torture moved into sole possession of seventh place.  That pretty much wraps up the top 20.  Ghost continues to climb and in a couple more years I wouldn’t be surprised if it reaches the top 50.

Speaking of the top 50, probably unnoticed by many is the 38th placed song, My Sweet One.  It isn’t a song I would think most people seek out, won’t make or break a show, except maybe for me.  As of this tour I have been to 52 shows spanning 20 years. I have never seen a MSO.  According to ZZYZX it is the most common song not to be played in that many shows.  It has become my unlikely white whale.  As this tour winds its way across the country, I was getting more and more excited that I would finally get a My Sweet One. And then, right out of the box, second song at Blossom.  What adds to the sting this time is that Blossom was my younger days venue.  In high school I saw the Kinks there, Roger Waters, Bob Seeger and Phish’s first appearance in 1995. It is one of the best outdoor venues you’ll ever see.

What’s more, for the first time in a long time I’m going on the road to see Phish this year.  In addition to the home shows at Alpine, I’m headed to Magna Ball.  If ever I was going to get a My Sweet One, this was the year. Alas, my watch continues.  After the Alpine weekend, I’ll update the standings.  Here’s the Top Twenty after Blossom:

1   You Enjoy Myself – 570
2    Possum – 499
3    Mike’s Song – 478
4    Golgi Apparatus – 449
4    Bouncing Around the Room – 449
6    Weekapaug Groove – 447
7    Chalk Dust Torture – 434 (sole possession of seventh)
8    David Bowie – 433
8    Cavern – 433
10   Run Like an Antelope – 426
11   Suzy Greenberg – 410
12   Divided Sky – 401
13   Stash – 397
14   Runaway Jim – 371
15   Reba – 368
16   Harry Hood – 350 (hits 350!)
17   The Squirming Coil – 345
18   Tweezer – 342
19   Foam – 341
20   I Am Hydrogen – 329

Leave a Reply

