A Week in and I’m Just Fine

A week into Lent 2015 and I’m feeling pretty good.  I won’t say that I don’t miss my social media outlets, but it hasn’t been as hard as I thought it would be.  As far as what has been the hardest platform to do without, I’d have to go with Twitter.  I really missed it during the Academy Awards.  Good, snarky comments are always fun during award shows.  When baseball is officially back, I will still have a week or two to go until Easter so that is going to be rough.

ihs

I don’t miss Facebook as much as I thought I would.  Though I do miss keeping tabs on some of my favorite folks, it really hasn’t felt like a void.  I can definitely see just turning it off during election season.  I do have a fun project in mind for Facebook after Easter.  I would like to see if there is a way to collect a series of updates and make them one blog or something or other.  But first I need to make the status updates.

The true killer has been the treats at work.  I’m happy to report that I haven’t broken as of yet, but it is hard.  Two days donuts were in the office and another day a student brought in homemade brownies.  I mean, COME ON! Am I made of stone!?! Thinking about that for a second, three out of five work days thus far during Lent there have been treats around.  No wonder I can’t lose any weight.  It is amazing too, how temptation has a way of finding us.

I have really been enjoying, however, the Lenten observance my employer has provided this year.  If you are looking for a quick, easy and very good way to get back to prayer and reflection, I encourage you to visit Igniting Our Values.  It shares each days gospel, reflections from Jesuits and lay people and also offers some multimedia bits as well to help and inspire reflection.  I’ve particularly enjoyed the music provided on the Spotify playlist, beajesuit.  Give it a lesson if you’re into that sort of thing.

A week in, and I’m feeling it.  I think at this point last year, everything had already gone to shit.  There is something about making a good start that helps me keep moving.  A spiritual and metaphysical kind of Newton’s Law.  Here’s to staying in spiritual motion.  Have a good week everyone.

Leave a Reply

