Phish at Northerly Island: A Weekend to Remember, 7/18-7/20

Nine blogs over three days or so, that is some kind of record.  Jimmy Greenfield would be so proud.  I had a blast, to say the least.  In part because of the usual suspects, being out and about among my people, soaking in the jammy atmosphere; chatting with my neighbors, talking about what we wanted to see, what we liked from the night before; getting an upgrade for my seats the last two nights.  I can only assume that the security team was aware that the way to one side of the bleachers was open to the floor seating.  Of course none of that matters without the music and the music was something else this weekend.

IMG_2459

I’ve been to a number of two night runs and a few of the festivals over the past twenty years, but the three night run is the most intriguing.  I figure the band can pull it together for two nights, or get up for a festival, but to do three nights is a row is something special.  Two years running we have been treated to three shows in Chicago (though I missed most of last years, due to a vacation) and since I’ve been following Phish I’ve seen two other three night runs in 1998 and 2011 respectively.  It’s a small sample size, but this weekend was best.  As far as runs go, for my personal shows, it is right up there with Alpine Valley in 2010 and Deer Creek in 1997.  Festivals deserve there own consideration and since they are so different from each other it is hard to compare.

Back to Chicago 2014.  Looking back at my quickie blogs and starting to listen to the shows over again, it is amazing how strong Phish sounded, how much energy they had through most of the shows.  The set where I thought there was a lack of energy was the first set on the first night.  The band just didn’t come out blazing.  It really was the outlier of the weekend.  The remaining 5 sets were just sizzling.  What’s even more amazing is that the last set on the third night, was for me, the best set of the weekend.  A must have is the Mike’s->Wedge, Ghost ->Weekapaug.

I often see people comment on who was the “MVP” of a night or a run or a tour, but I can’t really pick out one of the four over this stretch.  The band just seems to be really listening and working off one another.  If there is one element I’ve really enjoyed the past two tours is that while Trey is still the leader, in some ways still the driver, he has really be ready to take a step back and allow Page to thrive.  Combined with the Mike and Fish the melodies that the band has been coming up with have been truly extraordinary.

A couple more thoughts.  The new album seems to have rejuvenated the band.  If 2013 was a celebration of the past, 2014 is a celebration of the future.  The best single set may have been set two from 7/20/14, but so much of the music is worth your time if  you are a fan of Phish.  The first sets (minus night one) were well constructed and while the second set is generally the province  of the more exploratory, lengthy material, the first sets from nights two and three are great pieces in there own right.  I can see those sets making for some good running soundtracks over the next months and years.  Phish, they keep me rolling.

IMG_2457

Leave a Reply

