On the VB6 Week 12: Recommit and Go Forth

Last year I wrote a blog post about Lent and my appreciation for the season.  It is the part of the Catholic calendar where I always put a little more oomph into my spiritual condition and that usually, if not always, also manifests itself in a physical way.  Not always in depravation, mind, but in doing something positive, for example a couple of years I did Push-Ups for Jesus, as many push-ups as I could do before collapse, fun stuff like that.

I haven’t fallen off the VB6 wagon, but I feel like this is a good time as any to kind of recharge my batteries concerning the program.  I plan, starting Ash Wednesday, to re-read key portions of the book and, here is the “big” discipline for Lent, I’m going to try one recipe a weekend from the book.  That might not sound like a lot, but considering that cooking chicken nuggets in the middle of the week is an accomplishment given schedules and what not, one new recipe a week is about all I can handle.

I’m also toying with the idea of going “full vegan” (before 6 of course) during the season, really plugging into the practice.  I still need to ponder that a few more days.  I need to balance the discipline and benefits to the cranky factor of no cheese and bread throughout most of the day.  Considering I do not live or work in a vaccum, I should probably think of others as well.

In regards to other parts of my Lenten program for 2014, especially considering health and wellness, I plan on hitting all the assignments in my training plan for a spring marathon.  I’ve been doing ok, but some of the weekend miles have been hard to come by.  Also in these forty days the first of two 20-milers will be happening and I need to be honest as to how they feel.  I learned last year that “it will come together on marathon day” is a really bad way of thinking.

Of the non-health and wellness parts of Lent will be delving back into morning reflection and prayer.  Last spring, until June really, I was feeling really good regarding such things.  I almost felt ready to embark on the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius.  Then the wheels kind of came off and I’m not ready for that sort of thing.  Hopefully this Lent can recharge that battery too.

One final note for full disclosure: I will not be on the VB6 for Fat Tuesday.  It will be a bacchanal of sugar and meat.  I am Catholic after all.

Leave a Reply

