Closing Time Part 3

Another installment of an old blog. More to come of recent events, the last White Sox game with a season post mortem for sure and a few other things. Until then…

Monday, July 23, 2007
back from Vacation, and doing nothing!
let’s face it, vacation is detrimental to productivity. God, I can even think about work, which isn’t good, seeing how I REALLY need to get some business done. Vacation was pretty good, all things considered. I need to go on vacation without any extended family however, just the immediate unit for a week or so. We were in St. Joe’s MI which is an excellent get away from Chicago or other points in the midwest. Very nice beaches, cute town and not far away to make the trip unbearable. We went to the beach everyday, ate very poorly, and there was a carnival in town for the evening hours. If this dissertation thing doesn’t work out, I think I’d make an excellent carny, just take out all of my dental work and I’d fit right in…

Wednesday, July 11, 2007
Back to work…or not?
Current mood: annoyed
I think the last time I posted, there was a finished chapter. There still is, and it still needs to go to the boss. Vacation is staring me down and no work will be done. I’m not too sure I like that. The stress of this whole process is really getting to the family and it needs to be done. One more chapter by the end of September and I’ll feel on track. so, there it is a commitment to the ether, September 30th, next draft.

Tuesday, June 26, 2007
I’m a dork!
Current mood: chipper
I slight departure from the normal fodder, but on Sunday for the first time in my life, I scored a goal in a soccer game! No, I don’t believe it either. Which is probably why I proceeded to retrieve the ball from the net as if to make sure it really happened. Like I said, I’m a dork. Unfortunately, the game was a draw which we should have won. It is amazing what diet and exercise will do over the course of six months to a year. Last year when I played soccer, I could barely make it a half. Sunday, due in large part that we were short on players, I played the entire game and was barely winded.

Back to the writing, which I am avoiding because to finish what I’m working on means to be finished with a chapter, which means shipping it off to the boss, which means feedback, which is usually quite a letdown. “Needs work”, “flabby”, and “interesting” are pretty much standard fare. I know its a draft, but a little something to go on would be a huge help. I’m not asking for high praise, but monosyllable communication doesn’t quite lift the spirits. Not like scoring a goal anyway…

Thursday, June 21, 2007
slow, slower, slowest
Current mood: lethargic
Can’t get moving, so unmotivated the past few days. I would like to be doing more, a lot more, and yet I’ve got nothing. Maybe it’s summer, maybe it’s lack of sleep, or maybe it’s just me. Reminds me of a story: I was working at a college and a young writer and I got into a discussion about discipline and work and writing. He said ultimately “it comes down to either watching the Simpsons at 10, or working for another hour. I need to work that extra hour.” He has since gone on to publish 3 novels (and counting.) I continue to choose the Simpsons. Which leads to feels of…guilt? self-loathing? ennui? I don’t know. But what I do know is that ideas, thoughts, concepts come and lately, they just go. Not a good feeling. No, the feeling of “I should be doing more” and wasted creativity is absolutely crushing me these days. I think the best I can hope for today is a clean kitchen, after that maybe some other work.

Monday, June 04, 2007
And so it goes…
Current mood: cranky
Writing and more writing. The only problem is the weekend! I just can’t take more than a day off from writing or I come back, like today, and it is like writing through mud. I just can’t get going! Oh, well put in a real hour, as opposed to the “check my e-mail, look at the fantasy baseball team” hour of writing. Some work is better than no work, but not by much

Monday, May 21, 2007
Here’s hoping…
Current mood: sleepy
I just can’t get motivated to write. Unfortunately, I really need to get going! I hope by scribbling a little here, I will get back into it, at least for a little while today. It’s the post draft blues really. I’m not a big fan of editing and revision, and yet those are key parts of this whole frigging process. I’d much rather tinker with my fantasy baseball team, drink coffee, and listen to music. Sad isn’t it?

Thursday, March 15, 2007
Keeping at it
Current mood: busy
I haven’t written much here in awhile, but I’ve been working. and working. and working… What is really difficult these days is not equating lots of work with a good day. No work = a bad day. Life can’t work like that, not for long anyway. I don’t want my world to be dominated by how productive I feel. What happens when productivity stops? Do I lose my identity? Nope, there is more to life than work, a good day can come whenever I let it. I hate to say it, but back to work…

Monday, January 22, 2007
the waiting game
Current mood: frustrated
And so it begins, or not. I’m feeling good in the whole process right now, the comments that I’ve received on the proposal are good, beneficial. Now it is just a matter of hearing back from the powers that be and gearing up for the defense. It just seems that for every day that I accomplish something, it takes the committee folk a week to respond etc. I’m at a place where action is required, but I don’t want to get too far ahead of the game. It is very frustrating to tell the truth…

Tuesday, January 09, 2007
been awhile
Current mood: stressed
Stop working, stop blogging. Back to work… Things are relatively ok. Still waiting for one of my readers to get back on my proposal. It has been two months, and I’m a wee bit peeved at this point. I’ve submitted some stuff for publication and got the teaching bug again. Oh well, it will help with the bills, well maybe one bill, it doesn’t exactly break the bank. I must say, I’m sick of being a student, I’m ready for all of this to be over. Here’s hoping 2007 is the last year of being a student…

Monday, November 27, 2006
thinking is hard work
Current mood: determined
So, back from the holiday and putting the shoulder to the wheel, as it were. I received only a handful of comments/suggestions from reader ..2, but they were the right questions. Trying to answer the points brought up in a concise manner has proven to be a bit more difficult than I had bargained for. It is good stuff, because I can literally see how this is improving my work and making it better in the long term as well, pushing me to consider things from a different perspective. Having said that, it is hard to believe an additioinal 100 words could take so fucking long to write…

Leave a Reply

