I’ll take Potpourri for $100 Alex

Too much information, running round my brain…

How bout them White Sox? 3 of 4 from the Evil New York Yankees, 2 of three from the nomadic Angels of Aneheim, pulling off the Peavy trade, nothing but puppy dogs and rainbows on the south side! Of course this means a three game sweep by the AAA team formerly called the Indians is iminent and all hope dashed within a week.

Speaking of the Yankees, and really more about ESPN, I can’t take the hype about Red Sox/Yankees anymore!!!! It’s a series in early August for crying out loud!!! I don’t need, nor want, nor CARE what the pitching match ups are, what each team did at the deadline, and the importance of the series is to both teams. SHUT UP!! SHUT UP!! SHUT THE FUCK UP!! The simple fact that the co-host of Baseball Tonight, or Yanks/Sawx and 28 other teams, refers to Boston as “the nation” completely ruins their credibility. If they pick up the horrific Yankee fan club name, “Yankee Universe” I will have to put ESPN on my blocked channels list.

I ran a 5K last night, the Elvis is Alive 5K and set a new PR.* Overall, it was a lot of fun, various running Elvi, lots of kids, including mine, good post run food: banannas, Elvis Sandwiches (peanut butter and bananna) various Clif-type bars. The actual race wasn’t all that great, however. It was way too narrow and didn’t get spread out until the last mile and even then it was still kind of tight. I’m no burner, but when I have to weave and dodge my way through the crowd you know there isn’t enough space.
*PR= Personal Record. It should be noted that I probably ran faster at some point in high school, but a) I can’t remember and b) Records are only kept for adulthood.

I also finished the final chapter of my dissertation and I’m feeling pretty ok. I know there is still a ton of work to be done, but the fact that I have this huge stack of paper all sort of related is kind of cool. We’ll see how I feel in a couple of months.

Sadly, I like so many others of my cohort am touched by the passing of John Hughes. I agree with Joe Posnanski in that if I was born 15 years earlier, I would have thought the movies were stupid, 15 years later I would have thought they were lame, but I was smack in the middle of John Hughes at his height, I may have even been 16 when Sixteen Candles came out. He may not have been the first, but its the first time I remember as a geeky teen seeing geeky teens on screen. In some way it made being a misfit ok, until the next roll of the twenty-sided die that is.

One thought on “I’ll take Potpourri for $100 Alex”

  1. Agreed. I can’t stomach ESPN anymore, and haven’t watched any of their programming for some time (the only exceptions are specific games that the WWL shows — I never watch SportsCenter or Baseball Tonight or any of those shows. I can’t stand them.)

    By the by, do you ever watch the MLB network? I’d like to check them out more, though I wonder how partisan they’ll be considering MLB funds them — do they do any “hard-hitting” investigations? Unlikely, though in truth sports media is a disaster, more gossip columnists than reporters.

    Yanks/Red Sox, in early August, is the truth. Nothing better than a 4-game sweep. Down with Boston.

Leave a Reply

